Applications open for NZSA Peter & Dianne Beatson Fellowship

Calling for applications from writers of fiction, non-fiction, poetry and drama with a literary track record, who are currently working on a new project.
This annual Fellowship is generously donated by Peter Beatson and provides the successful applicant with a stipend of $7,000.

2017 CLNZ Contestable Fund: $75,000 - Ready and waiting for writers and publishers

Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) has today opened applications for writers and publishers to apply for funding to support their writing projects from the CLNZ Contestable Fund – of which $75,000 is available in 2017. 

Each year, a portion of the revenue collected by CLNZ is allocated to the Cultural Fund, and is made available for applicants to apply for. Successful recipients for the CLNZ Contestable Fund will receive funding to support their writing projects that have clearly defined and measureable outcomes that align with the Cultural Fund objectives.

Applications are now open.
Applications close 4pm, Friday 30 June 2017

Michael King Fellowship awarded for book on New Zealand music composition

The $100,000 Michael King Fellowship has been given to award-winning author and composer Dr Phillip Norman to create a history of New Zealand composers and their work from the start of European settlement to present day.
Christchurch-based Dr Norman will use the fellowship to complete a lifetime of work studying New Zealand classical music identifying influential composers, works and performances, and tracing key developments through the decades.

Four secondary school writers win mentorships with professional authors

Four talented secondary school students have been selected as winners of the New Zealand Society of Authors (PEN NZ Inc) Youth Mentorship Programme 2017. This year NZSA has awarded four youth mentorships rather than the usual three writers as each of these finalists are at the perfect stage to hone their writing skills and develop their craft under the mentorship of four of New Zealand’s finest professional authors.  

Veteran Coromandel author wins Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal 2017

Veteran children’s novelist Des Hunt has been announced as the recipient of the 2017 Storylines Margaret Mahy Medal.
The Margaret Mahy Medal has been given since 1991 for an outstanding contribution and lifetime achievement in the field of New Zealand children’s literature and literacy.  

Storylines Announces Notable Books 2017

The Storylines Children’s Literature Trust is delighted to announce the 33 outstanding New Zealand children’s and teens’ books selected for its Notable Books listings for 2017.  
The 2017 Notable Books (published during 2016) are:
Junior Fiction 
Barking Mad
by Tom E Moffatt, illustrated by Paul Beavis
Scholastic NZ

PANZ Book Design Awards Entries are now open

The 2017 PANZ Book Design Awards are now open for entries, with a closing date of Friday 31 March 2017. This year entry to the main awards is to be made using our online form. Enter using the digital form here.
Please note Young Designer Award entry form and criteria is attached. 
Dates for your diaries: 
The shortlist will be announced on Monday 12 June 2017 and winners announced at an evening awards ceremony in Auckland on the 20 July 2017.
As in previous years we plan to hold a workshop for designers on the morning after the awards ceremony.

The Windham-Campbell Prize: Ashleigh Young has won $165,000

The Windham-Campbell Prizes Celebrate Five Years and Adds Poets: Eight Writers Each Receive $165,000 and the Phone Call Of A Lifetime

2017 Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement: call for nominations

Every year New Zealanders are invited to nominate writers who have made a significant contribution to New Zealand literature in the categories of non-fiction, poetry or fiction. $60,000 is awarded in each genre.
New Zealand writers are also able to nominate themselves for the awards.
The nominations are assessed by an expert literary panel and recommendations forwarded to the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand for approval, with the awards presented in a formal ceremony.
In 2016, Marilyn Duckworth received the award for Fiction, David Eggleton for Poetry and Atholl Anderson for Non-Fiction.

Literary Awards Offer $20,000 in Prize Money

Writers working in the Mind Body Spirit genre have until 31 March to enter the 2017 Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Literary Awards. 
The awards, which are now in their 14th year, have two categories, one for Books and another for Unpublished Manuscripts. The winner in each category receives a $10,000 prize. 
Spokesperson for the Trust, Adonia Wylie, says the judging panel is looking for fiction or non-fiction works that have the potential to uplift and enhance people, relationships and society.