Ockham NZ Book Awards

Barbara Brookes’ History of New Zealand Women wins Illustrated Non-Fiction Award

Congratulations to Barbara Brookes, Winner of the Ockham Award, Illustrated Non-Fiction section.
We are thrilled that Professor Brookes has won this award. A History of New Zealand Women represents a lifetime’s research and writing by the author, and decades of strong publishing on women’s issues by BWB. 

Black Ice Matter wins Best First Book Award

Author Gina Cole's book Black Ice Matter has won the Hubert Church Best First Book Award for Fiction in the 2017 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards held at the Aotea Centre in Auckland last night.

Ockham Residential Book Awards Winners' Poster

From Book Awards Trust Manager, Belinda Cooke:

The winners of the Ockham NZ Book Awards have now been announced, and what an incredible evening it was. Thank you so much for having participated in promoting all the finalists with our point of sale material through the shortlist period, and we hope that you will now have a further opportunity to boost sales of the winners.

Free Tickets to the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards

As part of the Booksellers/Book Tokens sponsorship of the Ockhams NZ Book Awards, we have 18 complimentary tickets to give away to our members. The Awards will be the first public event of the Auckland Writers Festival, starting at 7.00pm on Tuesday 16 May, in the ASB Theatre at Aotea Centre.

To go in the draw to win a double-pass for your store, email jane.arthur@booksellers.co.nz with the following information by 5pm, Wednesday 5th April (subject line: Ockhams):

Store name:
Attendee 1 name:
Attendee 2 name:

Literary Heavyweights Vie for Top Writing Honours

Four of the country’s most respected novelists are in the running for New Zealand’s richest fiction writing prize with today’s announcement of the 2017 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards shortlist. 

Commonwealth Prize-winning novelist Catherine Chidgey’s The Wish Child is one of the contenders for the $50,000 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize, as are multi-award winning writer Owen Marshall’s Love as a Stranger, critic, poet and novelist C.K. Stead’s The Name on the Door is Not Mine, and critically acclaimed poet and novelist Emma Neale’s Billy Bird.

Book Awards longlist and new sponsor announced

The 2017 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards longlist, announced today, celebrates an impressive range of books by both established and emerging authors.  
Forty titles have made the coveted and highly competitive longlist; ten in each of the four Awards categories – Fiction (The Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize), Illustrated Non-Fiction, General Non-Fiction (the Royal Society of New Zealand Award for General Non-Fiction) and Poetry. The books were selected by four panels of specialist judges and were drawn from 150 entries. 

About the Awards

The New Zealand Book Awards celebrate excellence, identifying the very best books for adult readers  written by New Zealanders. From 2016, in a partnership between the New Zealand Book Awards Trust and the Auckland Readers and Writers Festival Trust, they will be held annually as part of the Auckland Writers Festival. This enables a valuable synergy between an event that attracted over 60,000 attendances in 2015 and New Zealand writers.   

The Awards
Books are judged in four main categories:
  •     Poetry
  •     Fiction
  •     Illustrated Non-fiction, and
  •     General Non-fiction.
Books submitted in the four main categories, written by first‐time authors, are also eligible to win the Best First Book awards for Fiction, Poetry and Non-Fiction.
Books written entirely in te reo are eligible for the Māori Language award.
Winners of the Acorn Foundation Literary Award, for fiction, win $50,000. Winners of the other three category awards each receive $10,000, the Māori Language award $10,000, and each of the winners of the three Best First Book awards, $2,500.
Four panels of three judges each are selected to judge each category. 
The New Zealand Book Awards are supported by Ockham, the Acorn Foundation, Creative New Zealand and Book Tokens (NZ) Ltd. The awards are administered by the Auckland Writers Festival on behalf of the New Zealand Book Awards Trust. If you are interested in supporting the New Zealand Book Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator on awards@nzbookawards.org.nz.
Before 1996, there were two major New Zealand literary prizes, the New Zealand Book Awards (1973‐1995) and the Goodman Fielder Wattie Book Awards (1968‐1993). Montana took over the sponsorship of the Wattie Awards in 1994, and the Awards became the Montana Book Awards (1994‐1995). In 1996, the two Awards merged to form the Montana New Zealand Book Awards (1996‐2009). In 2010, sponsorship of the Awards was assumed by New Zealand Post, who had been supporting the children’s book awards for the previous 14 years. Ockham became the principal sponsor in 2015 and the name of the awards changed to the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.  
The 2016 awards cover the 19 months of books published between 1 June 2014 and 21 December 2015. From 2016 on, the awards will be held each year in May, as part of the Auckland Writers Festival.   

The New Zealand Book Awards Trust
The Trust was established as a charitable trust in 2014 to govern and manage the awards and to ensure their longevity and credibility. Its members are Nicola Legat, Karen Ferns, Paula Morris, Kyle Mewburn (representing the New Zealand Society of Authors), Stella Chrysostomou (representing Booksellers New Zealand), David Bowles and Julia Marshall (representing the Publishers Association of New Zealand). 
It is also responsible for the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults (held in August each year) and National Poetry Day (held in late August each year). Sponsorship is still being sought for both of these events.

The Ockham Book Awards are open for submissions

The New Zealand Book Awards Trust advises that submissions are now open for the 2017 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards. Books published between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2016 will be considered. 
There are two submission dates. Please observe the guidelines for sending your entries in two tranches, which are in place for ease of sending to judges. 
  • Submissions of titles published between 1 January 2016 and 31 August 2016, open on Monday 1 August and close 5pm Monday, 5 September 2016

Shearer, farmer and former soldier wins premier book award

Stephen Daisley has won New Zealand’s richest writing prize, the inaugural $50,000 Acorn Foundation Literary Award, for his novel Coming Rain, announced this evening at the 2016 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Daisley, who was born and raised in the Raetihi Hotel, which his parents owned, is a former soldier in the NZ Army. He was 56 years old when his first book, Traitor, was published to wide literary acclaim in Australia, winning a Prime Minister’s Award for Literature. Daisley now lives in Western Australia, where he is a farmer and shearer.

New book award named after esteemed historian

A new book prize – The Judith Binney Best First Book Award for Illustrated Non-Fiction - will be presented at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards this year. 
The award, named in honour of the late historian, Dame Judith Binney, brings the total of Best First Book awards being presented to four, the other three being The Jessie Mackay Award for Poetry, The Hubert Church Award for Fiction and The E H McCormick Award for General Non-Fiction.