Tilly Lloyd's NZ Post Book Awards predictions

Tilly peers into her New Zealand Post Awards crystal ball…

The Read thought it would be fun to ask an eminent bookseller to pre guess the judges’ nominations for the first New Zealand Post Book Awards which will be announced  next Tuesday, June 22.

We chose Tilly Lloyd because we were doing the profile of Unity Wellington, and what the heck, it saved money on toll calls.

Ms Lloyd, however, took to her task with High Court gravity. As she had been out of the country on sabbatical during some of the awards period, she consulted with colleagues regarding titles she may have overlooked.

Here’s the Tilly Lloyd list and comments:

The judges will have needed more than a dram of laphroaig this inaugural year... and things are so whittled down we foresee room in other parts of the year for (just for starters) The Otago School of Medicine Biography Prize, The Bluff Aluminium Smelter Annual Environmental Photography Prize, the Gallagher Electric Fence Sports Writing Prize, and the Fonterra Food Writing Prize.

I commend the fully democratic process that produced the New Zealand Post Book Award’s shortlist rules, but I am alongside the many authors and publishers and booksellers who wish that fiction and poetry categories had a shortlist of five.

Anyway, here's a rough guess from the coalface:

As the Earth Turns Silver, Alison Wong, Penguin
Somebody Loves Us All, Damien Wilkins, VUP
Singularity, Charlotte Grimshaw, Random

Good Business, Ian Wedde, AUP
The Blind Singer, Chris Price, AUP
Further Conviction Pending: Poems 1998-2008, Vincent O'Sullivan, VUP

Double Rainbow: James K Baxter, Ngati Hau & the Jerusalem Community, John Newton, VUP
Ned & Katina, Patricia Grace, Penguin
Zone of the Marvellous: In Search of the Antipodes, Martin Edmond, AUP
Kiwi Companeros: NZ & the Spanish Civil War, Mark Derby, CUP
Replenishing the Earth: the Settler Revolution, James Belich, OUP

Vault, Neil Pardington, Christchurch City Gallery
The Invention of New Zealand: Art & National Identity 1930-1970, Francis Pound, AUP
100 Essential NZ Films, Hamish McDouall, Awa Press
Dick Frizzell: The Painter, Dick Frizzell, Random House
Encircled Lands Te Urewera 1820-1921, Judith Binney, BWB

Best-first-book fiction:
Butterscotch, Lyn Loates, David Ling

Best-first-book poetry: 2 JOINT winners
Since June, Louise Wallace, VUP
Wit of the Staircase, Saradha Koirala, Steele Roberts

Best-first-book non-fiction winner:
Trust: A True Story of Women & Gangs, Pip Desmond, Random