Announcing the Judges for the Book Trade Industry Awards

We are very happy to announce the very experienced judges of the Book Trade Industry Awards for 2019 are Michael Moynahan, Simie Simpson and Robbie Egan.

Robbie Egan is the new CEO of the Australian Booksellers' Association. Egan came to his current role from being group operations manager at Melbourne independent book chain Readings, and has had a long career in bookselling.

Simie Simpson is currently a librarian in the Kaipara region, and for 12 years prior to that she was an award-winning Regional Sales Manager for Walker Books. She has also been a bookseller at Unity Books, and is a 2019 Judge of the NZ Book Awards for Children & Young Adults.

Michael Moynahan is currently Chair of Creative NZ's Arts Board. He has had a long association with literature and a 25-year career in publishing. He helped develop the Auckland Readers and Writers Festival and was the inaugural Chair of its trust board. Michael chaired the Publishers and Booksellers Associations of New Zealand and was a board member of the New Zealand Book Council. He was also CEO of Harper Collins (Australia, New Zealand and India), CEO of Random House India, and Managing Director and Chairman of Random House New Zealand.  

These three judges will be judging seven categories of the Book Trade Industry Awards: Nielsen NZ Bookshop of the Year, Nielsen NZ Publisher of the Year, NZ Young Bookseller of the Year, NZ Young Publisher of the Year, NZ Sales Person of the Year, Marketing & Publicity Strategy of the Year, and the newly-named NZ Book Industry Innovation Award, formerly the Special Industry Award.

Publishers and booksellers will be invited to prepare their applications for these awards from Friday 14 June, with all awards applications due by Monday 15 July.