Shortlist for 2018 RoNAs Announced

The shortlists are announced today for the 2018 RoNAs (Romantic Novel Awards) and feature Sunday Times Bestsellers, including Jenny Colgan, Milly Johnson, Trisha Ashley and Rowan Coleman, as well as two of the year's bestselling titles, How to Stop Time by Matt Haig and The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan. 

Novelist Soraya Lane, from Christchurch, has been shortlisted in the UK for the 2018 RoNAs (Romantic Novel Awards) in the Historic Romantic Novel category and could go forward to contest the overall, most prestigious, award – The Goldsboro Books’ Romantic Novel of the Year 2018, sponsored by independent specialist bookshop Goldsboro Books.

Reverend Richard Coles, broadcaster, dancer and former pop star, will present the Romantic Novelists' Association (RNA) Awards for 2018 during a ceremony in the Gladstone Library, One Whitehall Place, London SW1 on 5th March.

There are seven award categories comprising the best in Contemporary Romantic Fiction, Epic Romantic Fiction, Epic Romantic Fiction, Paranormal or Speculative Romance, Romantic Comedy, shorter or category romance (The RONA Rose Award), and Young Adult Romance. This year's shortlists demonstrate the diversity of romantic fiction and show the genre to be in excellent health across traditional, digital and independent author publishing.

The winners of the seven categories will be announced during the evening and from these an overall winner will be selected to receive the RNA's highest accolade, the Goldsboro Books Romantic Novel of the Year. The Reverend Richard Coles will present the winner with the award and a prize of £5000.

Since its inception in 1960 the RNA has promoted excellence in romantic fiction. RNA Chair, Nicola Cornick, commented, "The breadth of fiction which features on this year's short list is a brilliant illustration of what a broad spectrum the romance genre encompasses. I'm delighted that this year's contending novels explore some profound and thought provoking themes. Our awards celebrate the many shades of romantic fiction, highlighting the wide appeal of the genre and some of the best examples from the last year."

David Headley, Managing Director of Goldsboro Books, commented, "The range of themes explored in this year's shortlist is a testament to the many facets of the romantic fiction genre. Goldsboro Books is delighted to be sponsoring the awards for a third year, and bringing these diverse and entertaining books to readers' attention." 

Previous winners have included Joanna Trollope, Freya North, Rosie Thomas, JoJo Moyes and Rosamunde Pilcher.

The 2018 RNA Awards will be announced and presented by the Reverend Richard Coles on 5th March in the Gladstone Library, One Whitehall Place, 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ.  The event starts at 6.30pm.

The Category Shortlists 

Contemporary Romantic Novel 

  • Together, Julie Cohen, Orion
  • The Picture House by the Sea, Holly Hepburn, Simon & Schuster
  • The Keeper of Lost Things, Ruth Hogan - Two Roads, John Murray Press
  • The Dangers of Family Secrets, Debby Holt, Accent Press
  • The Queen of Wishful Thinking, Milly Johnson, Simon & Schuster
  • Just For The Holidays, Sue Moorcroft, Avon Books
  • My Summer of Magic Moments, Caroline Roberts, HarperImpulse
  • Coming Home to Cuckoo Cottage, Heidi Swain, Simon & Schuster

Epic Romantic Novel 

  • This Love, Dani Atkins, Simon & Schuster
  • What Was Rescued, Jane Bailey, Lake Union Publishing
  • A Winter Love Song, Rita Bradshaw, Pan Macmillan
  • The Man I Thought You Were, Leah Mercer, Lake Union Publishing
  • The Hourglass, Tracy Rees, Quercus

Historical Romantic Novel 

  • A Master of Litigation, Susan Leona Fisher, independently published
  • Besieged and Betrothed, Jenni Fletcher, Harlequin Mills & Boon Historical
  • The Designer, Marius Gabriel, Lake Union Publishing
  • Wives of War, Soraya M Lane, Lake Union Publishing
  • The Silk Weaver's Wife, Debbie Rix, Bookouture

Paranormal or Speculative Romantic Novel 

  • The Summer of Impossible Things, Rowan Coleman, Ebury Press
  • How to Stop Time, Matt Haig, Canongate Books
  • The Other Us, Fiona Harper, HQ
  • Max Seventeen: Firebrand, Kate Johnson, independently published
  • Hold Back the Stars, Katie Khan, Doubleday

Romantic Comedy Novel 

  • The Little Teashop of Lost and Found, Trisha Ashley, Black Swan
  • The Hygge Holiday, Rosie Blake, Sphere/Little, Brown
  • The Summer Seaside Kitchen, Jenny Colgan, Sphere/Little, Brown
  • The Little Clock House on the Green, Eve Devon, HarperImpulse
  • 13 Dates, Matt Dunn, Lake Union Publishing
  • Little Teashop of Horrors, Jane Lovering, Choc Lit

RONA Rose for shorter romantic novels 

  • The Convenient Felstone Marriage, Jenni Fletcher, Harlequin Mills & Boon Historical
  • Wedding Bells by the Creek, Janet Gover, independently published
  • Their Double Baby Gift, Louisa Heaton, Harlequin Mills & Boon Medical
  • Christmas at the Little Village School, Jane Lovering, Choc Lit
  • The Mysterious Italian Houseguest, Scarlet Wilson, Harlequin Mills & Boon

Young Adult Romantic Novel 

  • Margot and Me, Juno Dawson, Hot Key Books
  • One Italian Summer, Keris Stainton, Hot Key Books
  • Ten Birthdays, Kerry Wilkinson, Bookouture

Author and cover images for all titles are available on request 

For further information please contact: Katrina Power 07 963 962 538 or or Pressofficer@ romanticnovelistsassociation. org

Notes to Editors: 

About the Romantic Novelists' Association (RNA) 

The RNA was formed in 1960 to promote romantic fiction and encourage good writing and now represents 1000 writers, agents, editors and other publishing professionals. The Romantic Novel of the Year Award was launched in the same year, and recognises excellence in romantic novels thereby enhancing the standing of the genre.

The RNA has always involved readers in judging the awards. Keen readers are asked to rate nominated books on a number of criteria including romantic content, readability, characters, plot, dialogue, style and ending. These readers' favourites are then presented to the expert independent judges, who decide the overall winners.

A list of past winners can be found at www. romanticnovelistsassociation. org

Goldsboro Books is the UK's leading independent bookshop, specialising since 1999 in first editions, signed, collectable and exclusive books. Situated in Cecil Court in London's West End, it has gained a reputation for championing debut authors, as well as creating the UK's largest book collectors' club and is influential in selling large quantities of hard-back fiction.