Storylines' Award Winners Announced at Margaret Mahy Awards Day, 8 April 2018

Storylines’ 2018 awards were announced at the Storylines Margaret Mahy Awards Day held in Auckland on Sunday 8 April, attended by Prime Minister and Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Jacinda Ardern.

The Storylines Margaret Mahy Awards Day is Storylines Children’s Literature Trust’s annual celebration of New Zealand’s children’s writers and illustrators, their books and achievements. It is held in Auckland each year on the weekend closest to International Children’s Book Day, 2 April - Hans Christian Andersen's birthday. In an exception this year, the Awards were held the weekend after Easter. 

A well-established author, Tina Shaw of Reporoa (right), and two newcomers, James Guthrie and Elaine Bickell, both of Wellington, won awards for new writing. 

Tina Shaw is the author of five children’s books, including the young adult novel About Griffen’s Heart, a Storylines Notable book published in 2009. She is widely known as a prolific writer of adult fiction, with short stories in many anthologies, literary journals and magazines. Among her awards are the Buddle Findlay Sargeson Fellowship, the Creative New Zealand Berlin Writers' Residency, and the University of Waikato Writer in Residence. 

Her novel Ursa, which won the Storylines Tessa Duder Award for a novel for young adults, is a powerful coming-of-age story set in an allegorical version of Nazi Germany. It will be published by Walker Books Australia in 2019.  

The awards in full:

Storylines Tessa Duder Award for an original young adult manuscript, in partnership with Walker Books Australia: 
Tina Shaw (Reporoa) for Ursa.  

Storylines Joy Cowley Award for an original picture book text, in partnership with Scholastic New Zealand: 
Elaine Bickell (Wellington) for The Little Ghost who lost his Boo

Storylines Tom Fitzgibbon Award for an original junior novel manuscript, in partnership with Scholastic New Zealand:
James Guthrie (Wellington) for Bullseye Bella 

Storylines Gaelyn Gordon Award for a much-loved book (in print for more than five years and a favourite with young readers): 
Joy Cowley (Featherston) and Trace Moroney (Wellington) for Nicketty-Nacketty, Noo-Noo-Noo (Scholastic New Zealand) first published in 1995