This is the form to fill out if you would like to submit your title to be considered for radio book reviews and author interviews on Radio New Zealand National’s Nine to Noon programme.

Please note: if your title makes it onto the monthly review list, you will be invoiced for $95+GST to cover the administrative costs of this benefit. 

DUE DATES FOR SUBMISSIONS 2019/2020 

MONTH

SUBMISSIONS OPEN

SUBMISSIONS CLOSE

SHORTLIST

SCHEDULE CONFIRMED

JULY 2019 - closed

Fri 3 May

Wed 15 May

Fri 24 May

Fri 31 May

AUGUST 2019 - closed

Mon 10 June

Wed 18 June

Tues 25 June

Fri 28 June

SEPTEMBER 2019 - closed

Fri 5 July

Mon 15 July

Mon 22 July

Fri 29 July

OCTOBER 2019 - closed

Mon 5 August

Wed 14 August

Wed 21 August

Wed 28 August

NOVEMBER 2019 - closed

Fri 6 September

Wed 18 September

Wed 25 September

Mon 30 September

DECEMBER 2019 - closed

Mon 7 October

Wed 16 October

Wed 23 October

Wed 30 October

FEBRUARY 2020 - closed

Mon 18 November

Wed 27 November

Wed 4 December

Mon 9 December

MARCH 2020

Mon 6 January

Wed 15 January

Wed 22 January

Wed 29 January

APRIL 2020

Mon 3 February

Wed 12 February

Wed 19 February

Wed 26 February

MAY 2020

Mon 2 March

Wed 11 March

Wed 18 March

Wed 25 March

JUNE 2020

Mon 6 April

Wed 15 April

Wed 22 April

Wed 29 April

JULY 2020

Mon 4 May

Wed 13 May

Wed 20 May

Wed 27 May


Reviews are broadcast daily at approximately 10:35am. Author interviews are often broadcast before the book review from about 10am. The Nine to Noon team will contact you directly if they wish to organise an author interview.


  1. In submitting books please ensure they fall within the following criteria:
  • Nine to Noon is looking for variety, quality and uniqueness. Please do not submit reprints or new editions (unless they have been substantially changed). Books which have been previously available in New Zealand on indent only are acceptable.
  • There must be sufficient copies of the books available throughout the country so that listeners are able to purchase copies easily.
  • Titles that are part of an exclusive deal with bookshops should not be submitted until available to the entire New Zealand book trade.
  • If selected for review, publishers will be asked to guarantee that the books have been sold into the trade and will be generally available in New Zealand bookshops in time for the scheduled review date, and that stock will be available to supply any customer orders resulting from a broadcast review. 
  • Not all titles selected will be automatically reviewed. Between 17 and 23 titles are reviewed per month from thirty selected out of up to eighty submissions. Some titles may be held over for review in a later month, and re-submissions are allowed, though be aware all submission rounds go to a similar reviewer pool for selection. 
  1. The submissions are collated and forwarded to Radio New Zealand National for selection. Booksellers New Zealand is not involved in the selection process.
  2. The administration cost for each title reviewed will be $95 excl. GST. If your books are reviewed, an invoice will be sent to you at the beginning of the month after the review. A complete listing of the book review schedule is posted online at http://booksellers.co.nz/book-news/books-radio-nz-national. There is no charge from Booksellers New Zealand for author interviews.
  3. We ask you to complete one form per title submitted, including as much information as possible to help the Nine to Noon team make its selection. AIs can be attached to each entry directly on this form.

If any of your titles are selected for review, we will ask for two copies of each title to be sent to us for forwarding to the reviewer and interviewer. Please be aware that if review copies are not received at least two weeks prior to review date, the title will be removed from the review schedule.

Please do not submit books directly to Radio New Zealand, all books and submission forms are required to be sent to Booksellers New Zealand.

This form is due back 12 noon on the date noted above.

Contact Booksellers NZ on info@booksellers.co.nz with any queries.

 

Contact details