This is the form to fill out if you would like to submit your title to be considered for radio book reviews and author interviews on RNZ National’s Nine to Noon programme.

Please note: The scheme has changed.  From 1 April 2021, the cost per submissions is $10 +GST to cover the administrative costs of this service. You will be invoiced after the longlist of titles is submitted to RNZ. There is no longer a $90 "success fee".

DUE DATES FOR SUBMISSIONS 2021

MONTH

SUBMISSIONS OPEN

SUBMISSIONS CLOSE

SHORTLIST

SCHEDULE CONFIRMED

(for review book requests)

MARCH 2021
- CLOSED

Mon 11 January

Wed 20 January

Thurs 28 January

Tues 2 February

APRIL 2021
- CLOSED

Tues 9 February

Wed 17 February

Mon 22 February

Fri 26 February

MAY 2021
- CLOSED

Mon 8 March

Mon 15 March

Fri 19 March

Fri 26 March

JUNE 2021
- CLOSED

Thurs 1 April

Mon 12 April

Fri 16 April

Fri 30 April

JULY 2021

Mon 3 May

Mon 10 May

Fri 14 May

Fri 21 May

AUGUST 2021

Tues 8 June

Mon 14 June

Fri 18 June

Fri 25 June

SEPTEMBER 2021

Mon 5 July

Mon 12 July

Fri 16 July

Fri 23 July

OCTOBER 2021

Mon 2 August

Mon 9 August

Fri 13 August

Mon 23 August

NOVEMBER 2021

Mon 6 September

Mon 13 September

Fri 17 September

Fri 24 September

DECEMBER 2021

Mon 4 October

Mon 11 October

Fri 15 October

Fri 22 October

FEBRUARY 2022

Mon 8 November

Mon 15 November

Mon 22 November

Fri 26 November

MARCH 2022

Mon 10 January

Wed 19 January

Thurs 27 January

Tues 1 February

APRIL 2022

Tues 8 February

Mon 14 February

Fri 18 February

Thurs 24 February

Reviews are broadcast daily at approximately 10:35am. Author interviews are often broadcast before the book review from about 10am. The Nine to Noon team will contact you directly if they wish to organise an author interview.


  1. In submitting books please ensure they fall within the following criteria:
  • Nine to Noon is looking for variety, quality and uniqueness. Please do not submit reprints or new editions (unless they have been substantially changed). Books which have been previously available in New Zealand on indent only are acceptable.
  • Children's books are not often selected for review.
  • There must be sufficient copies of the books available throughout the country so that listeners are able to purchase copies easily.
  • Titles that are part of an exclusive deal with bookshops should not be submitted until available to the entire New Zealand book trade.
  • If selected for review, publishers will be asked to guarantee that the books have been sold into the trade and will be generally available in New Zealand bookshops in time for the scheduled review date, and that stock will be available to supply any customer orders resulting from a broadcast review. 
  • Not all titles selected will be automatically reviewed. Between 17 and 23 titles are reviewed per month from thirty selected out of up to eighty submissions. Some titles may be held over for review in a later month, and re-submissions are allowed, though be aware all submission rounds go to a similar reviewer pool for selection. 
  1. The submissions are collated and forwarded to RNZ National for selection. Booksellers NZ is not involved in the selection process.
     
  2. The administration cost for each title submitted is $10 +GST. An invoice will be sent to you after the submissions period has closed. A complete listing of the book review schedule is posted online at http://booksellers.co.nz/book-news/books-radio-nz-national. There is no charge from Booksellers NZ for RNZ National author interviews.
     
  3. We ask you to complete one form per title submitted, including as much information as possible to help the Nine to Noon team make its selection. AIs can be attached to each entry directly on this form.

If any of your titles are selected for review, we will ask for two copies of each title to be sent to us for forwarding to the reviewer and interviewer. Please be aware that if review copies are not received at least two weeks prior to review date, the title will have to be removed from the review schedule.

Please do not submit books directly to RNZ National, all books and submission forms are required to be sent to Booksellers NZ.

This form is due back 12 noon on the date noted above.

Contact Booksellers NZ on info@booksellers.co.nz with any queries.

 

Contact details
$

I have read the information provided at the beginning of this document and understand that, by submitting this title, I agree to the criteria listed in the introduction. I acknowledge that I accept the $10 +GST per submission administration fee.