Mt Eden community bookshop, Time Out Bookstore, has been named Bookseller of the Year at the NZ Book Trade Industry Awards for 2016. Allen & Unwin Publishers have been named Publisher of the Year.

Time Out Bookstore and their manager Jenna Todd have been media favourites over the past year, with their whole-hearted backing of local author Ted Dawe seeing their ‘banned book’ display become one of the most enduring images of New Zealand bookselling in 2015. Judge, NZ Book Council CEO Catriona Ferguson notes, “Time Out Bookstore nudged ahead of the other finalists with its focus on a lively digital programme, headline-grabbing responses to issues in the book world, and an enthusiasm for embracing and engaging readers from all areas of the community.”

Another Auckland independent bookshop, The Women’s Bookshop in Ponsonby, has walked away with the bookseller’s Marketing Strategy of the Year for their fantastic NZ Bookshop Day event. This saw a whole range of their celebrity customers in a moving window display, which led to impressive sales on the day and a very successful campaign overall.

Rachel Eadie from Scorpio Books in Christchurch is the Young Book Retailer of the Year for 2016. Scorpio has just moved out of the Re:Start containers in central Christchurch, into a brand new store in the newly-built BNZ building. In a testimonial as part of her entry, a publisher said, “A bookseller such as Rachel imparts enthusiasm and careful consideration of books – she makes you want to read.”

Sales Reps are the essential connection between bookseller and publisher, bringing the publisher’s best books to their essential audience. Winner Louise Crisp, from Penguin Random House NZ is described as “having aplomb, commitment, engagement, helpfulness, a sense of humour and as being gentle, friendly, honest, and conscientious,” says ex-publisher, judge Tony Harkins.

HarperCollins Publishers NZ wins Marketing Strategy of the Year, for their exceptionally successful promotion of They Let Me Write a Book, by Jamie Curry. One of the features of the campaign was the use of Interlike with their ‘magic selfie machine’ at each of the book’s  launches: 438 photos generated over 16 million post views each seen 38,415 times. Says judge, bookseller Helen Parsons, “The judges were very impressed by the winner’s use of modern marketing to an appropriate audience in an appropriate way.”

Publisher of the Year goes to Allen & Unwin, for their dedication to New Zealand publishing in a difficult time. “These publishers have plans and vision for the future. They are sound. And they continue to diversify…they are producing very fine books,” says Helen Parsons.

Wellington-based Bridget Williams Books wins the NZ Book Industry Special Award for their consistent publication of “splendid books which beautifully represent New Zealand culture.

“Bridget Williams Books tirelessly represent our stories, our people and our place, and strive to find new ways to tell these stories,” says Ferguson.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is deservedly awarded to Paul Greenberg from Greene Phoenix Marketing, for his tireless championing, through ill health and well, of his publishers’ books. Greenberg has spent his life representing books for sale to bookshops all over New Zealand – the only sales rep to do so.


Also announced during conference were the Kobo Scholarship recipients for 2016, who were named as Courtney Smith and Rochelle Handley. Booksellers NZ is grateful for the sponsorship of Kobo, which allows these young booksellers to attend the Winter Institute in the USA, which next year will be held in Minneapolis in late January.

Our book industry is thriving. We may be small in size, but we are great in ambition, and the strength of our publishing and bookselling industry proves this year after year.

NZ Book Trade Industry Awards winner’s list:

Sales Rep of the Year - Louise Crisp, Penguin Random House NZ
Marketing Strategy of the Year – Publisher - HarperCollins Publishers New Zealand
Publisher of the Year - Allen & Unwin Publishers
Marketing Strategy of the Year – Booksellers - The Women’s Bookshop, Ponsonby
Young Book Retailer of the Year - Rachel Eadie, Scorpio Books, Christchurch
Bookseller of the Year- Time Out Bookstore
NZ Book Industry Special Award- Bridget Williams Books
Lifetime Achievement Award  - Paul Greenberg, Greene Phoenix Marketing


Notes for Media:
Sponsors of the NZ Book Trade Industry Awards are Book Tokens Ltd and Nielsen Book. The Book Trade Industry Awards are held as part of Booksellers NZ’s 95th conference, at Heritage Hotel, Auckland.

Time Out Bookstore created this video to include in their application for Bookstore of the Year:

Image: Time Out Bookstore, high  res image available on request.